The Statement of Purpose is your chance to talk directly to the admissions committee and stand out. Your goal is to convince the committee that you genuinely have the spark, a thirst for knowledge, and that you will add value to their class.

There is no “correct way” to construct an outstanding Statement of Purpose; in fact, following a cookie cutter template can work against you. Do begin, however, by reviewing the prompt and making sure you know what it’s asking, and that what you’re writing is responding directly to the questions posed in those prompts. 

Your Statement of Purpose should describe the academic, intellectual, and professional trajectory that led you to the specific program or school to which you are applying. It should demonstrate that you are a good “fit” for the program and that you are someone who will make valuable contributions and who can benefit from the school’s resources.  

Your Statement should not reiterate your resume, but rather you should use the resume as a reference. Select your critical experiences and share how those specific experiences molded your interests and led you to this point. Do your best to make sure you plan ahead so you can prepare to put your best foot forward in the application process for admission to your desired program.  

-Leah Amos, Assistant Director of Admissions at HGSE

We asked several currents students to share how they approached writing their Statement of Purpose. Read their their advice to prospective applicants below:

Lauren Crispi

I approached my Statement of Purpose for HGSE by first thinking about conversations for my career I had with an array of mentors, colleagues, and even my family and friends. I thought deeply about the common themes throughout each of these encounters and what specifically in education was pushing me to be the most excited about pursuing a degree in the field. Through these conversations, I was able to identify what to highlight in my statement. My advice is that it’s okay to have a range of interests and ideas when writing your SOP. Ultimately, how you decide to bridge them together to best represent you and your passions becomes the key for your statement of purpose.   

Chandler Houldin

I began by writing down and eventually drafting the most important pieces of my story that I wanted to communicate. I included a mix of personal interests, academic endeavors, and the way my identity has shaped my passion for education. The best advice I can give is to draft, draft, draft, and find someone to work with you throughout the process like a family member, colleague, close friend, or a professor! 

Devon Caveney 

 I brainstormed moments in my life that have shaped my passion for education. These moments ranged from a discussion in one of my college classes to my counseling experience helping students navigate the college application process. Then, I thought about the skills I gained from these experiences and used these moments to exemplify my skills. I highly recommend incorporating specific anecdotes into your SOP; it leads to an engaging narrative and paints a stronger picture about who you are.  

Ebony Breaux 

When I worked on my statement of purpose, I focused on a my educational and work background, the gaps that I had that HGSE could help me to fill, and why I was interested in HGSE specifically. I did a lot of research on the program, so my SOP was very specific to my program. I recommend that prospective applicants do their research too! Look into the courses, the requirements, the faculty, the support programs, the students, everything that will help you determine if HGSE is a good fit and WHY. 

Trending