“The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are” – a quote by John Pierpont Morgan

In my pursuit to connect my love for learning and technology, I had decided to move away from my then-world of just technology into the world of education. When and how I started to move towards this new direction would make a story for another day!

So, many steps later…

Image

… and three months ago, I moved into a home away from home. I’m very grateful for thoughtfully prepared welcome kits, scrumptious spreads during Orientation week by staff at the Harvard Graduate School of Education (HGSE), a warm welcome-reception by the Technology, Innovation, and Education (TIE) program faculty & staff as well as (ongoing) pot-luck dinners and get-togethers with new friends.

Image

As a graduate student, learning has been everything that I thought it would be and more. Among my four courses of the Fall semester, three of my courses at HGSE are based on my interest in Educational Technologies, Design/Creativity and Cognitive Science. The fourth course which I cross-registered for at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Media Lab is a design course on Human Computer Interaction (HCI). At times, these courses remind me that learning new things often requires me not only to step-up my effort to overcome any challenges or fill huge gaps, but also be persistent as my will to learn itself may be tested.

Additionally, as part of TEDxHGSE and CommuniTIE (TIE cohorts) students’ organizations and as a Students’ Ambassador (Students’ Admissions Ambassador Program), I guarantee that learning also happens outside the classrooms. As someone recently told me, I expect to spend a long time in the future in unpacking everything from this (short but intense) academic year and look forward!

Image

Krithika Jagannath is a Master’s of Education candidate in the Technology, Innovation and Education program. Harnessing her passion for technology and learning, Krithika explores the ways in which technology can be used to enhance the education of young children. 

Trending