If you’re thinking about attending HGSE, it’s time to start thinking about the practical things. For some of you this will mean organising visas, going through your finances or handing in your notice at your current workplace. For all of you, this will mean thinking about finding a place to live.  There are several options open to you and where you choose will depend on your circumstances.

Cronkhite
Cronkhite is a university dorm located just a 5 minutes walk of HGSE. It’s super convenient and many HGSE students live there. From what I’ve heard, there is a great community atmosphere.  This is one of the cheaper options for rental but there is a compulsory meal plan too. Some people love this because it means they don’t have to worry about cooking whereas others miss that freedom.  Rooms are single occupancy and bathrooms are shared. Getting a room in Cronkhite is through the same process as HUH but the deadline is earlier so keep track of that if this is an option that interests you. You can find some pictures and more information here

Other Harvard University Housing (HUH)
There are numerous other HUH options scattered across Cambridge from studios to family apartments, some furnished, some not and they all vary in price.  It can be quite expensive to live in HUH but advantages include proximity to campus, inclusive utilities and internet, ease of organising and the opportunity to take part in community events.  My top tip would be, if you are an incoming student interested in renting HUH, to sign up as soon as possible. The quicker you sign up, the sooner you will be allocated a view and select window. SIGN UP NOW! I learnt the hard way, dithered for ages over what I wanted to do and by the time I signed up, I got a very late View and Select period which meant there was little choice left.  The view and select windows, on two separate dates, are when you get the chance to look at the floor plans of all HUH options, make your preference list and then choose your final abode. You need to make good use of the viewing window, since once your select window comes round, it’s first come, first served and what you wanted may have already been taken by someone else so you need several choices.

Private rental
Many landlords are keen to rent to students in the area and this can be a significantly cheaper option.  The Harvard Off Campus Housing website can give you an idea of this although you obviously don’t have to use them (many people use Craigslist and other rental websites as well).  Many students pay far less rent in other suburbs and then commute in.  Harvard Square T-Stop is just a short walk from HGSE so this makes it very manageable.  HGSE Facebook groups seem to also pop up with people looking for roommates so this is another way to ease the process and costs.

Personally, being an international student, I made the choice to go for HUH.  I had never been to Boston and didn’t know anyone in the area so for me, having the security of  a quality housing option, without having to concern myself with organising furniture, internet installation or heating costs in the long, cold winter was all worth it relative to the increased cost.  The Graduate Commons Program also organises regular events to build community within HUH which I found really helpful for meeting people early on. These included socials on site (with lots of free food!), trips apple picking or to the cinema, as well as events for those with children and families.  I am living in Peabody Terrace in a furnished studio, so I have my own kitchen and bathroom and I’m very pleased with the quality and security of my accommodation. The photo below is of the main living / sleeping area.

The author's room in Harvard University Housing

Which option will you choose?

Blog written by Sarah Winser. Photo provided by Sarah Winser.

Headshot - Sarah Winser.pngHi, I’m Sarah Winser and I’m on the Arts in Education program this year. I am from London, England and have spent most of my career teaching in primary schools in Hackney, a borough of London. For three years before coming to HGSE, I taught in an international school in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

 

Trending