Welcome Spring Semester!

OMG: One of my favorite slang terms. I found myself saying this a lot as I returned to HGSE for Spring semester.

OMG time to shop for classes. OMG time to choose classes. OMG time to start classes. OMG time to finalize and begin my internship. OMG I have assignments due already? OMG I missed my friends! OMG I have to find a job. OMG I’m planning a conference! OMG this year is going by too fast!

Needless to say, the first week back was stressful. Getting back into a routine is my main goal moving forward. One of my classmates and friends reminded me that although there is a lot going on in our lives, we have to stop and think about how fortunate we are to be in this place at this time. No one can take away this experience. With her encouragement and friendly reminder, I am confident that this Spring semester will be stress free (generally speaking–I can’t guarantee all the time) but most importantly it will be successful. Everything will work out in perfect timing, including securing my dream job. Until then, I am going to dive into my work and continue creating memories of a lifetime. 

Rashaida Melvin is a Master’s of Education candidate in the School Leadership Program. She has taught for three years and is excited about moving from the classroom into leadership. Rashaida is looking forward to serving both teachers and students in the future.

