Home Away From Home

Flashback to August 1: moving day. For the first time in my life, I left everything and everyone behind in North Carolina to come to an area of the country that was completely unknown to me. Everything was different. I was used to my own apartment; here, I share with three other people. I was used to having my own car; here, I walk and use public transportation. How could I make a new life for myself when everyone and everything I knew were miles away? But then I met my SLP (School Leadership) family and everything changed. I was opened up to a community that was loving, caring and very helpful. I started to get to know the people that would help make this foreign place my new home. 

13995437_10105884736128446_3106908928765569621_o

A majority of my School Leadership Program (SLP) cohort at orientation!

 

12jdalmqkt7im

There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home, there’s no place like home. A phrase that I stopped saying thanks to my cohort!

Rashaida Melvin is a Master’s of Education candidate in the School Leadership Program. She has taught for three years and is excited about moving from the classroom into leadership. Rashaida is looking forward to serving both teachers and students in the future.

