I got HIRED!

Twice a week, I intern at Cambridge School Volunteers (CSV), a non-profit organization that supports the academic and personal success of Cambridge Public School students. I work closely with the College Readiness Mentoring Program which assists high school seniors, some who are the first in their families to apply to college, with college applications and financial aid. As a first-generation college student myself, I know all too well the adversities students may face during the college application process. One of my goals was to make an impact in the lives of underrepresented students and my Program Assistant position at CSV allows me to do just that.

Ivan Valdovinos (Left) and Diane Sherlock (Right) HGSE alum.

Ivan Valdovinos (Left) and Diane Sherlock (Right) HGSE alum.

During the summer, I began my search for an internship that would complement my course load. I browsed through the Hired system—a Harvard Graduate School of Education resource where internship and job postings are available—in order to secure a paid internship. The Career Services Office also hosts an Internship Expo during Orientation Week where you can speak face-to-face with potential employers. I met my boss at the Internship Expo which helped me land an interview and eventually helped secure my internship! Here are some tips to help you during the internship process:

Tip #1: Meet with a career counselor

Work diligently and face-to-face with a career counselor in order to explore the internship process.

Tip #2: Browse the Hired system

Compose a list of potential employers and do your research!

Tip #3: Attend the Internship Expo

Bring copies of your polished resume and dress professionally! You may encounter your future employer.

Tip #4: Secure a for-credit, work-study, or unpaid Internship

Good luck, have fun, and get HIRED!

Ivan Valdovinos is a Master’s in Education candidate in the Education Policy and Management Program. He is a first-generation college student who seeks to develop culturally sensitive intervention programs for underrepresented students.

Tagged , , , ,
