Internships and Job Searching

One of the experiences I was looking forward to the most at HGSE was participating in the Field Experience Program, and completing an internship. I am one of the Education Program Interns at VSA Massachusetts in Boston, where I am assisting with program evaluation for their in school arts education programs. I am so fortunate to work with amazing staff (including two of my fellow AIE cohort members, Hannah and Aysha), and after reading about what quality arts programs look like in other courses, I am able to see what they look like in real life practice.

I would suggest that you apply for your internships EARLY! It took me a couple weeks to hear back from some of the organizations I applied to, and in order to give yourself as many choices as possible, it is best to start the process at least a month before FEP class registration deadline.

While I initially planned to take time off after graduation, there are so many opportunities available, and I know that the hiring process can take some time. Jump starting my job search was inspired by my visit to New York over Spring Break as part of the EdConnect series sponsored by Career Services. I was able to visit the Posse Foundation, and to attend an informative panel with graduates of the Arts in Education program.

I have found that it is best to utilize as many sources as possible when searching for jobs.  The Career Services office posts jobs, internships, and workshops on Hired. I am planning to return to California after graduation, so I have continued to check the websites of organizations I am interested in throughout this year. Idealist, Opportunity Knocks, and Craigslist can be good options for people in the nonprofit sector, and HigherEdJobs and EdJoin list opportunities in education. Finally, reach out to your network! Facebook and LinkedIn groups have been particularly useful for me.

Tarin Griggs is a Master’s of Education candidate in the Arts in Education program. She has worked as an arts administrator, poet, dancer, and editor. She hopes to partner with nonprofits to bring arts programming back into urban schools in the San Francisco Bay Area

