Grateful and Graduating

Since the last time I wrote, there has been a great deal of change. I now know what it is that I am doing next year. I came in to HGSE, not quite sure of which direction I was heading. But after the first semester, I knew that I wanted to pursue a doctorate in Education. With great apprehension, I applied to doctoral programs, and I am happy to announce that I will be heading to UPenn’s GSE in the fall for my doctorate. As I get ready to graduate in about a month, I realize how busy I have been the past 8 months. It has a whirlwind of activity, yet amidst it all, there are some incredible speakers and educators who will remain in my mind for a long time. I had the privilege of taking a Jterm class with Prof. Howard Gardner on “Truth, Beauty, and Goodness.” More recently, I had the opportunity to meet with Chancellor of NYC Public Schools, the famous Carmen Fariña and reflect on what a force of good she has been in her role. Finally, I had the chance to speak with Bryan Stevenson, NYU Law Professor, and founder of the Equal Justice Initiative. Each of these individuals are warriors for justice, in their own respective fields. Whether a wildly famous academic, an illustrious Chancellor, or a nationally-renowned social justice activist, these individuals reminded me of the power of the humility. No matter how famous they are, they still make time to teach, mentor, and inspire students. I hope I can step into those roles in my future career.

IMG_05701 - Version 2

Ed School Students with Attorney Bryan Stevenson, Photo Credit: Maung Nyeu

Ed School Students with Attorney Bryan Stevenson, Photo Credit: Maung Nyeu

For now, I hope to move forward successfully towards graduation.

  1. I’ve ordered my Graduation Regalia
  2. I will be auditioning to sing for the HGSE Commencement ceremony
  3. Ordered my tickets for Family members to attend Harvard Graduation
  4. Found Housing for Family Members (they will stay with me)
  5. Started to plan for fun times with friends in two free weeks prior to graduation – I hope to make the most of the spring weather which is finally here!!
  6. Started saying goodbye to Boston and the Northeast
  7. Getting ready to leave the wonderful place that is HGSE

With sadness, love, gratitude, apprehension, and hope for the future, I sign off to you as one of your 2015 HGSE blogger. Best of luck to you next year!

Irteza Binte-Farid is a Master’s of Education candidate in the Education Policy and Management program.  Having worked for QuestBridge, an education non-profit which matches low-income, first generation students to great colleges within the US, Irteza continues to be interested in the experience of first generation students in college. In the future, she is excited to enter the field of Higher Education Policy.

