IEP Connects: IEP Global Conference

On October 18-19, 2014 the International Education Policy Program at HGSE hosted the IEP Global Conference. Alumni and the current cohort gathered over the weekend to discuss pertinent issues associated with international education – policy reform, evaluation, entrepreneurship, education in armed conflict and much more. Through the conference I got to meet and interact with alumni from all over the world who were more than willing to share their career paths while reminiscing about their time at Appian Way.

It was amazing to hear all the varied accomplishments and heartening to know that we’re all focused on all children learning well. I was also selected to speak on a panel discussing Education Entrepreneurship. I discussed my experience of working with a low-income private school in Delhi, the challenges and learning. It was my first EVER academic panel and I had a great time interacting with my fellow panelists as well as the audience.

A special Town Hall was organised at the end of the conference to discuss the IEP Program itself. Conducted by Professor Reimers, the session gave all participants a chance to have a say in the future of the program including the curriculum, skills and experiences. It makes me feel proud to belong to a program that accepts this need to continuously evolve and is doing it in a participatory manner as well.

Here are some pictures from the event:

Members of the current IEP cohort!

Members of the current IEP cohort!

 

That's me! Speaking on the panel on Education Entrepreneurship

That’s me! Speaking on the panel  discussing Education Entrepreneurship

With Professor Reimers and my fellow panelists right before we spoke.

With Professor Reimers and my fellow panelists right before we spoke.

Ghazal Gulati is a Master’s in Education candidate in the International Education Policy Program. After transitioning from finance to teaching, Ghazal is now interested in systems design for monitoring and evaluation programs. With a love for museums, she is enjoying exploring the historic aspects of Cambridge and Boston!

Tagged
