From the Flurry

From the flurry of emails received in my first weeks at HGSE, I was only able to extract the room number of my advisor and the time of our advising group’s first meeting, and I promptly forgot my advisor’s name. When I arrived in the room to find it full of students, I sat in a corner near the door. From behind his desk, the bespectacled man began talking. Scanning the walls, I settled on a framed letter. The letter was from Jean Piaget, the noted developmental psychologist. It took a second for me to realize the addressee was Howard Gardner, the MacArthur fellow and promoter of the theory of multiple intelligences. Moments like this were common during the first weeks, as I found myself in rooms with incredibly accomplished individuals, instructors and fellow students both.

headshot

My advisor. Dr. Howard Gardner.

 

 

Tagged , ,
