New Experiences: Boston in the Fall

There’s a song in a kids’ show where the characters sing about all the things they haven’t yet done.  The chorus climaxes with the ultimate experience the characters are still missing; it goes: “And I’ve never been to Boston in the Fall!”

At the time I saw the show, I had no idea what was so special about Boston in the Fall.  But now I get it: Boston is absolutely stunning this time of year.  Watching the leaves change color every day is an experience to be relished.  I’m from California and I’m so glad I decided to go somewhere different for grad school.  Each week it seems, I am introduced to some new tradition or phenomenon that I’ve never experienced.

Just one example is the Head of the Charles Regatta, a rowing race that takes place on the Charles River which runs right through Harvard.  I’d never been to a regatta before, and I eagerly lined up along with other spectators to watch rowers competing amidst a beautiful landscape.  I met an old friend there, and I couldn’t think of a better way to spend the day a New England Fall day.  Sadly, the days of Fall are almost gone, but I’m so glad I can now say: I have been to Boston in the Fall!

image

Jessica Perez is a Master’s of Education candidate in the Higher Education program.  She is passionate about improving college access and completion for underrepresented student populations.

