Engaging in the Admissions Process

The 24th Annual Diversity Recruitment Program took place on October 28th, where hundreds of prospective students visited HGSE to learn about our academic programs and our community. With only a couple of months on our belts, current students have already been helping the Admissions Office by sharing their graduate experiences with prospective candidates.  Having attended a few recruitment activities myself almost a year ago (has it been a year already!?)  when I was applying, I recall how instrumental these activities were in my decision to attend HGSE. I could learn nearly everything about a particular program through a website, but there is something special about hearing directly from a current student – who not too long ago was in your same shoes!

As I prepared to meet prospective students, I was worried I might not have enough interesting things to share but then I realized just how much has happened over the short span of two months. Papers, midterms, group projects, events, social gatherings, interactions with classmates and faculty…the list could go on and on!

As a student ambassador, I am happy to not only share my experience and advice to prospective students but also to learn about their incredible accomplishments and stories.  Learning about students coming from all different walks of life with a wide array of goals and interests also reminds me of the amazing work the Admissions Office does in bringing together a class of talented and bright individuals.

ALANA at Diversity Program

African, Latino, Asian, and Native American Alliance (ALANA) Co-Chairs attending the HGSE’s 24th Annual Diversity Recruitment Program

As you – the prospective student – read this blog, I hope you consider taking advantage of all the resources HGSE offers – observe a class, attend a Saturday session, sign up for virtual info sessions, or chat with a student ambassador. Wishing you all much luck during this application season!

Jessica Acosta is Master’s in Education candidate in the Higher Education Program.  Deeply passionate about issues of race, equity, and college access, Jessica aims to gain knowledge and tools to promote a deeper understanding of multicultural issues and to help students of color strive towards academic success in college and beyond.

