The End

I will never forget the year I turned 30. Not because it’s a big birthday year but because it was the year I got my master’s degree at Harvard.

That’s a really weird sentence for me to write. Growing up, Harvard was a place for other people, certainly not for people like me who struggled in school and didn’t have any college graduates in the family. Of course, as a student of the Harvard Graduate School of Education I can’t help but think of the teachers in my life who helped me to get here. My dance teachers in Bermuda, for example, who showed their students that any goal could be accomplished with a lot of hard work and my college teachers at The New School who set high standards but always had a sense of humor and a positive attitude.

The first day at HGSE was on my 30th birthday. Similarly, the last day, convocation, is on a big day for me: my wedding anniversary. This is fitting because as my year here ends, my focus will be turned more towards the adventures my husband and I will be sharing together in our new home of Israel. I’m a little nervous about moving to a new country where I don’t yet speak the language and don’t yet have a job, but my year at Harvard has given me a lot of confidence, and I’m excited to apply what I’ve learned at HGSE to helping children and adolescents.

In the meantime though, finals…

It was great sharing this year with all of you, and I look forward to reading next year’s blogs,

-Kim

