Upon arrival and upon departure

Hello friends,

I hope you’re doing well. Maybe you’re deciding whether to apply to one of HGSE’s many programs, or you are starting to get ready to move to Boston this August. Either way, I know that if you’re reading this, you probably are somewhat interested in HGSE. As I’ve written in my past posts, coming here has been one of the best decisions I’ve made, and I can’t imagine myself pursuing my degree anywhere else.

However, there are other aspects that must be arranged “upon arrival” and “upon departure” to and from Boston. One thing that takes time to figure out is where are you going to live. Is it going to be in campus housing, in Harvard Square, Somerville, Central, Kendall Square, etc.? The good part is that there are many options to choose from, but the caveat is that Boston/Cambridge are busy cities filled with students that are moving in and out constantly. For this reason, the earlier you start looking for a place, the better options you will have.

In my case, I choose to live in Kendall Square, which is just two T (subway) stops from Harvard Square. My husband is studying at MIT, and we arrived here almost a year before my program at HGSE started, so we decided to begin and stay in this location. Although it is way more quiet than Harvard Square and we don’t have the numerous convenience stores, restaurants and stores, we do enjoy the peaceful ambiance and the proximity to Boston. I just need to walk 20 minutes to get to the other side of the river, which offers many activities to do as well.

I have a lot of friends that live in Harvard housing and they have enjoyed the convenience, location, and community environment. So I guess navigating all of the options really depends on what you are looking for, what are your priorities, and determining your budget.

What I can truly assure you is that you’ll feel welcome wherever you decide to live. Cambridge is a great place with an awesome mix of people from all over the world with endless possibilities to see, do, and learn.

-Daniela

