J-Term Highlights

Although I couldn’t take a J-term class, I filled the last three weeks with work, workshops, time with friends, and a number of school sponsored events. Here are the highlights from a couple of my favorites:

* HGSE Trip to DC for Inauguration 

HGSE SGA arranged a trip to Washington DC to experience the historic inauguration of Harvard alum, Barack Obama. We took the overnight bus to DC and watched the sun rise over the Washington Monument. Then we waved our flags and enjoyed the Presidential Swearing-in Ceremony, Inaugural Address, performances, and speakers. Although it had already been a full day, we checked out the Smithsonian and National Portrait Gallery before grabbing dinner in Chinatown and heading home. It was a fun day and well worth the effort.

 

* HGSE Snow Tubing

Snow tubing at the Nashoba Valley Ski Area in Westford, MA was a blast! A bus full of Ed School students spent a half day barreling down a designated snow tubing hill. We’d link up in pairs and chains, play games, try going forward and backward, and race one another to the bottom. We all felt like kids again. 

I also spent a considerable amount of time choosing my spring classes. I am pivoting away from a career in academe and I hope to synthesize my passion for education,  entrepreneurship, business, and communication. I was accepted into A-132 Educational Innovation and Social Entrepreneurship in Comparative Perspective, which is taught by Fernando Reimers and held at the i-Lab. I’m looking forward to another incredible semester!

-Bree

