J-Term

Three days in and I’m over a quarter of the way done with my J-term course, and it’s been absolutely amazing so far.

Side note: J-term is our “January term” here at HGSE. It’s a period over winter break when the Ed school offers all sorts of interesting courses for credit (and a few just for fun).

“Why take classes on my winter break??” you might ask. Well, for one, I want to make the most out of my time here. I won’t have access to Harvard classes forever. Secondly, grabbing some extra credit now will free up a little time for my ominous job hunt in the spring. And lastly, the course I’m taking, Informal Learning for Children, just looked awesome.

So far, our class has had the privilege to hear from a number of experts in various fields, including a WGBH producer, Sesame Workshop executives, and even a studio head from Rockstar Games. Our capstone project for the course, in teams of 5, is to propose some sort of informal learning product or initiative to be ultimately evaluated by third-party professionals. My group is currently working on an interactive platform to improve print and digital literacy in 8-10 year-olds.

It’s going to be a busy two weeks, but I think it’ll be well worth my time.

Happy New Year!

-Matt

