Fun, Friends, and Finals

Happy 2013, Everyone! With finals behind me and the break coming to a close, I took time to reflect on the end of a fantastic fall semester. November and December flew by! Although my workload definitely increased, I continued to strike a balance between work and play.

The Game (Harvard vs. Yale) – a well-known Harvard tradition – was worth the wait. Although I am a USC Trojan football fan for life and I love Pac-12 football, I also enjoyed the Ivy League experience. Donning my Harvard gear, tailgating with my group, and cheering on Harvard in a packed stadium were a lot of fun. I was happy when we held onto our winning streak and beat the Bulldogs 34-24! After a celebratory dinner at Redbones in Davis Square, my friends and I got dressed up, hopped on the T, and headed downtown to the official Harvard-Yale After Party. The Harvard Graduate Council reserved the loft at Royale, one of Boston’s best night venues, and we danced all night. It was a great way to commemorate a special occasion.

Then came the holidays and finals. Although I did not fly home to California for Thanksgiving, I spent the much deserved break with my friends in Cambridge. I even enjoyed a traditional Turkey Day feast two days in a row! Until then I had always had Thanksgiving with my family, but I’m happy to have stayed in Boston as it was a Thanksgiving to remember.

Then I blinked and it was the last week of classes. A large group outing downtown and the official End of Term Bash marked the end of a wonderful semester. Although finals may have been punctuated by holiday gatherings, it doesn’t mean that people didn’t go into finals mode, myself included. I focused my energy on my four final papers and began exploring different coffee shops and libraries in the area in order to change up my routine and prevent writer’s block. Between Crema, Peet’s, Pavement, the Thinking Cup, 1639, not to mention the libraries: Gutman, Widener, Spangler, the law school library, the divinity school library, and the Boston Public library, I cranked out four papers that I felt great about.

After a strong finish to my first semester, I am now looking forward to J-term and the spring semester. See you soon, Cambridge!

-Bree

