Hanging a Question Mark

Bertrand Russell, a great philosopher, logician, mathematician, historian, and social critic, once said, “In all things it is a good idea to hang a question mark now and then on the things we have taken for granted.” One of my professors likes to end class on this note and I always enjoy it.

I came to Harvard with an open mind and a desire to learn. Since arriving, I have enjoyed tackling complex issues that engender new ways of thinking and, at times, pose more questions than answers. Although far more courses caught my attention than I could possibly take, I am exceedingly happy with my fall selections:

* A702 Proseminar in Higher Education – Judith Block McLaughlin (Higher Ed. requirement)

* A412 The History of American Higher Education – Julie Reuben (Higher Ed. requirement)

* H250 Developmental Psychology – Paul Harris

* AH108 Learning in a Globalizing World: Language Acquisition, Cultural Awareness, and the Roles of (Neuro)Science in International Education Policies and Practices – Bruno della Chiesa

All of my classes are interesting and engaging. I am rapidly acquiring knowledge and I appreciate that the material builds upon on itself from one week to the next. I also value the role collective knowledge plays in the classroom and beyond. It goes without saying, but Harvard’s faculty are top notch. Not only do my professors do a fantastic job of sharing their expertise, I greatly appreciate their approachability. Whether sharing their history during office hours or at a “Salon,” it is clear my professors love what they do and are invested in their students.

Bree

