Tickets Galore

One of the first things you need to know about the Cambridge/Boston area is that there’s never a shortage of awesome events going on. I would confidently guess that a competent Google-user could find an event for every single morning, afternoon, and evening. From theater, to lectures, to sports, Boston’s got it going on, and many local events are Harvard-related. Last month, I attended the private premier of Ric Burns’ new documentary for PBS, Death and the Civil War, which features Harvard’s president, Drew Faust. She and Ric Burns were both at the event, and hosted a discussion panel after the viewing. All of this happened roughly one block from the Ed School.

This area is also a hotspot for events outside of the Crimson realm. In the 6 weeks that I’ve been here, I’ve had the chance to hear Jonathan Kozol speak about his new book, watch a modern production of Coriolanus in the Boston Commons, and catch an amazing theatrical rendition of The Kite Runner. My girlfriend and I plan on getting cheap Red Sox tickets in the next few weeks.

Whatever your interest, I guarantee you’ll be able to find it here. The real challenge is finding time for class in-between events.

Matt

