This Time Last Year II

Around this time last year, I was in a rather interesting predicament. In early March, I found that I had been accepted into a doctoral program at a very good school and the masters program at HGSE. I initially applied to a doctoral program at HGSE, but also chose the option to be considered for a masters not thinking that I would really get in at all. When I got the welcome email and video from HGSE I was elated, but since I already had two other masters degrees, I had to do some serious “soul searching” as I tried to decided between working on a third masters and moving on to get my doctorate.

Both options had their pros and cons. It took me several weeks to research, pray and weigh both options, but eventually I decided that HGSE was the best place for me at that point in time. Since making the decision to come to HGSE, I have had no regrets. This has been the best year of my life! I have learned so much about education, made lifelong friendships, and grown as a person in ways that I don’t think I could have anywhere else. Some days I think back and laugh at the fact that I even considered not coming. This year has flown by, and I can’t believe that it is almost over. After graduation, I will start working on a Ph.D. at the school that I originally considered last year. Everything has come full circle and worked out so that I could have the best possible outcomes, and I am grateful for that. For those of you trying to decide between HGSE and other schools, I definitely advise you to do your own “soul searching” to find the school that will give you what you need; however, in my biased opinion HGSE is that place for all of you! 🙂

