CSO + Winter Break = Future?

So, if you haven’t realized it already, HGSE has this thing for acronyms.
CSO = Career Services Office.

And the people there are pretty awesome.  I would know– I think I met with more than half of them.  What really worked for me, though, was scouring through their bios and then finding someone that I felt would be specifically helpful to me and whose time slots fit my schedule.  Like I said, I met with a few people.  However, I did connect with one advisor (Sarah Deighton) pretty quickly, so I feel that it was pretty smooth sailing from Day 1.

On my first day, I literally just showed up with my resume and chatted about future possibilities. During our meetings in my first semester, I mulled over ideas, updated her on my job search process, my internships, potential locations, etc.  I think I literally changed my mind about every other meeting.  But, throughout it all, even though we only had fifteen minutes, it didn’t feel short.  I always left with concrete advice, small “assignments,” and a better idea of where I was going.

I think I can honestly say this was one of my most valuable resources at HGSE.  And the semester isn’t over, so I’m obviously still milking it!  For you future HGSE’ers, here’s some advice:

  • Start early.  You have the most time in the beginning of the semester.  Don’t be in denial about graduating. 🙂
  • Try to meet regularly (every 1-2 months?) with one advisor who will get to know you.  This can be accomplished by signing up for time slots ahead of time.
  • Ask for and do your homework.  Even when I was swamped in all things HGSE, the little assignments helped me keep the future in mind.
  • Meet with other advisors too.  All of them have different resources, and if they don’t know the answer, they will direct you to someone who does.
  • Be candid and ask for help.  If the advisor doesn’t know where you’re coming from or what you’re exactly looking for, he or she won’t be able to help you.

If you’re like me, and you  didn’t come to HGSE fresh from an amazing career with another amazing job lined up for you, I think this is a good start.  Take care!

Tagged , ,
