Spring is here…

Judging by the unseasonably warm weather right now, it certainly doesn’t feel like winter.  We started the Spring semester at the end of January, so to some extent Spring is here.

In my last post, I mentioned class shopping and how I narrowed down the multitude of class offerings to a tidy number of 12 that interested me the most.  After going back and forth on my options, I settled on the following courses for the semester: Moral Adults – Moral Children, Educational Outcomes in Cross-Natural and Cross-Cultural Perspectives, Issues of Diversity in Cross-Cultural Counseling and Advocacy and Inventing the Future: Building Connections from School to Career.

Just a few weeks into the semester, I can already sense some of the things I’ll take away from all of my classes.  In my Moral Adults class, we are looking beyond morality as an ideal and learning about moral capacities and how to develop them in children.  The diversity of backgrounds and experiences in my Educational Outcomes class has already enriched my experience – the class has students from a good number of countries around the world who have incredible stories and perspectives to share.  Cross-Cultural Counseling has provided several useful ways to view and approach working with students.  Finally, my Inventing the Future class has explored the connection between education and careers from a developmental perspective – fascinating given my interest in career advising.

I’m looking forward to learning more already. Now it’s time to get started on those papers…

