And I’m Back…

Before I came to Cambridge, I never thought that I could call another place home; however, after being away from Appian Way for a few weeks, I definitely found myself missing HGSE. While I enjoyed the sunny skies and warm weather of Houston, Texas, part of me could not wait get back to the sunny smiles and warm friendships that I have grown quite fond of at HGSE.

Today was my first day back from winter break, and it felt good to walk around Appian Way and Harvard Square and have quick catch-up conversations with my friends. I was glad to hear that everyone I talked to had relaxing breaks at home with family or traveling abroad. With all of the conversations, everyone, no matter where they had been, expressed how glad they were to be home at HGSE!

In addition to spending the day catching up with my friends, I also had my first day of my J Term course with Professor Tom Hehir. At first, I was reluctant to take a winter term class because it was going to cut my vacation short, but since I will be in a special education doctoral program next year, I could not pass up the opportunity to learn from such an expert in the field. As I waited outside for class to start, Professor Hehir came over and warmly introduced himself to those of us who were waiting outside of the lecture hall. He was very energetic and excited to meet us and here where we were coming from. His excitement definitely carried over into his lecture, as the first day of my Critical Issues in Special Education Policy and Practice class was phenomenal. Professor Hehir’s passion for special education issues is contagious, and I am looking forward to the next two weeks of learning as much as I can from him!

