SAMI

As much as I enjoy new adventures and discovering the unknown, there’s great benefit to learning from those who’ve been there before.  So when I discovered the Student Alumni Mentoring Initiative, I eagerly submitted my application to participate.  SAMI has been incredible thus far and been a valued part of my HGSE experience.

Students selected for SAMI are matched with a HGSE alumni mentor.  My match shares an interest and work experience in higher education and has been a tremendous resource.  SAMI coordinates events in the Fall and Spring for mentors and mentees to get together and each match is encouraged to interact outside of SAMI events.  While I researched and discovered the student organizations and events I wanted to be involved with on-campus, I also wanted to make the most of my time here and asked my mentor for ideas on courses and individuals to speak with given my academic and professional interests.  And, let me tell you, she has provided excellent ideas.  There are a few Spring courses I am strongly considering based on my mentor’s insights.

Beyond that, as a Cambridge and Boston newbie, I wanted the scoop on areas around town to check out – you know, places to go, things to do.  Just in Cambridge alone, I’ve stumbled on different festivals with great food and live entertainment.  I haven’t made it to all the squares yet (Davis and Porter to name a few) but they are certainly on my short list of areas to check out before I leave town.  I’m glad I have a mentor as I continue my HGSE experience.

