The Highlight of My Day!

The highlight of my day was doing the “Wobble” line dance with about 15 other people, including Professor Deborah Jewell – Sherman, at the end of the Alumni of Color Conference (AOCC) social. That’s just not something that I thought I would do at Harvard, but I did, and it made me very happy!

The Alumni of Color Conference is an annual event where members from the HGSE community and the community at large, come together to discuss issues related to educational equity. This semester, I have been working on the publicity team to advertise the event, and I will continue to do so next semester until the conference is held in March. There are several other committees, and a number of people who are working on planning the event despite being busy HGSE students.

Tonight, we all just got together to wrap up the semester and have a good time. Professor Jewell – Sherman, the AOCC advisor, graciously hosted us in her lovely home, and welcomed everyone with hugs and smiles. While some time was spent on each team giving progress updates, we spent most of the night eating tasty treats, talking about life, doing a White Elephant gift exchange, and dancing a little. Everyone left the social with big smiles on their faces, and the positive vibes that I got from spending time with my friends gave me the energy to finish one of my final papers. I can’t believe I’m almost done with my first semester at HGSE! I guess time flies when you are having fun and working hard…and making your work fun!

